What are the continents of Africa?

What are the continents of Africa?

The continent can be divided into five regions:

  • North Africa which is located above the great Sahara Desert.
  • West Africa.
  • Central Africa.
  • East Africa.
  • Southern Africa.

    What states are in the continent of Africa?

    Senegal, 02 February 1999.

  • Ghana, 20 December 1999.
  • Mali, 16 August 2000.
  • Lesotho, 06 September 2000.
  • Botswana, 08 September 2000.
  • Sierra Leone, 15 September 2000.
  • Gabon, 20 September 2000.
  • South Africa, 27 November 2000.

How many countries are there on the continent of Africa?

48 countries share the area of mainland Africa, plus six island nations are considered to be part of the continent. All in all, there are 54 sovereign African countries and two disputed areas, namely Somaliland and Western Sahara (see the list of African countries below).

Where is Africa located in relation to the rest of the world?

Africa is located in between the Atlantic Ocean and Indian Ocean, and to the north is the Mediterranean Sea. Africa is the only continent large enough to be in both the northern temperate and southern temperate zones. The equator also runs through several countries in Africa.

Where can I find a map of Africa?

Maps of African countries can be found below or on the respective country page. You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project. Map of the African continent with countries, main cities and capitals.

Which is the largest transcontinental country in Africa?

The transcontinental country in this region is Egypt, also having a small part of its territory in Asia, on the other side of the Suez Canal, but politically it is a member of the African Union. Among the African countries, the biggest one is Algeria, occupying around 7% of the continent’s territory.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top