What nation is bordered by Guinea to the north?

What nation is bordered by Guinea to the north?

Guinea is bordered by Guinea-Bissau to the northwest, Senegal to the north, Mali to the northeast, Côte d’Ivoire to the southeast, and Liberia and Sierra Leone to the south. The Atlantic Ocean lies to the west.

How many countries border the Republic of Guinea?

six nations
Today, Guinea shares its land borders with six nations: Senegal, Sierra Leone, Ivory Coast, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, and Mali.

What countries have coastline on the Gulf of Guinea?

The 16 coastal countries that are situated along the Gulf of Guinea are Angola, Benin, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Gabon, Nigeria, Ghana, São Tomé and Principe, Togo and Sierra Leone.

Is the Gulf of Guinea the same as the Atlantic Ocean?

The Gulf of Guinea is the northeasternmost part of the tropical Atlantic Ocean from Cape Lopez in Gabon, north and west to Cape Palmas in Liberia. The intersection of the Equator and Prime Meridian (zero degrees latitude and longitude) is in the gulf.

What is the main religion in Guinea?

According to the SRA, approximately 85 percent of the population is Muslim, 8 percent Christian, and 7 percent adheres to indigenous religious beliefs. Much of the Muslim and Christian population incorporates indigenous rituals into their religious practices. Muslims are generally Sunni; Sufism is also present.

Where is the country of Guinea located in West Africa?

“Restaurant Obama” at Boulbinet fishing port in Conakry. A virtual guide to Guinea, a developing country in the tropical southwestern part of West Africa at the Atlantic Ocean. Bordered in north by Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, and Mali, and by Côte d’Ivoire to the east and southeast, by Liberia and Sierra Leone to the south.

Which is the capital of the Republic of Guinea?

Located at the coast is Conakry, the capital, largest city and chief port (pop. 2 million), spoken languages are French (official), and eight national languages. More than twenty different ethnic groups live in the country.

Where is the Atlantic Ocean located in Guinea?

The Atlantic Ocean lies to the west. Guinea consists of four geographic regions: Lower Guinea, the Fouta Djallon, Upper Guinea, and the Forest Region, or Guinea Highlands. Lower Guinea includes the coast and coastal plain.

What kind of terrain does Guinea Republic have?

Terrain: Generally flat along the coast and mountainous in the interior. The country’s four geographic regions include a narrow coastal belt; pastoral highlands (the source of West Africa’s major rivers); the northern savanna; and the southeastern rain forest. Climate: Tropical.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top