Where is Africa East or West?

Where is Africa East or West?

The continent is bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean, on the north by the Mediterranean Sea, on the east by the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean, and on the south by the mingling waters of the Atlantic and Indian oceans.

Where is Ethiopia located?


Ethiopia is strategically located in the Horn of Africa. Its proximity to the Middle East and Europe, together with its easy access to the major ports of the region, enhances its international trade. It is bordered by the Sudan in the west, Somalia and Djibouti in the east, Eritrea in the north and Kenya in the south.

What is considered West Africa?

Western Africa, region of the western African continent comprising the countries of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

Where is Ethiopia located in relation to other countries?

Ethiopia is a country in East Africa in the Northern and Eastern Hemispheres of the Earth. It is a landlocked country bordered by six countries. These are Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, Kenya, South Sudan, and Sudan to the north, northeast, east, south, west, and northwest respectively.

Where is Ethiopia located in the Horn of Africa?

Ethiopia is located in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Eritrea to the north, Djibouti and Somalia to the east, Sudan and South Sudan to the west, and Kenya to the south.

Are there any countries in the east of Africa?

Just as the name sounds, East Africa is located at the Eastern part of Africa with part of it extending to cover a prominence on the African map called the horn of Africa. It is also referred to as Eastern Africa. According to the United Nations, there are 20 African nations that make up East African countries.

Where is the border between Eritrea and Ethiopia?

In Eritrea, the eastern wall of this plateau runs parallel to the Red Sea from Ras Kasar ( 18° N) to Annesley Bay (also known as the Bay of Zula) ( 15° N ). It then turns due south into Ethiopia and follows closely the line of 40° E for some 600 km (373 mi).

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top