Who is the current president of the African Union?

Who is the current president of the African Union?

President Felix-Antoine Tshisekedi
The current Chairperson of the African Union is H.E. President Felix-Antoine Tshisekedi of Democratic Republic of Congo.

Who rules the African Union?

The current chair of the AU is President Félix Tshisekedi President of the Democratic Republic of the Congo. African Union Commission (or Authority) The secretariat of the African Union, composed of ten commissioners and supporting staff and headquartered in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Who is the current secretary-general of African Union 2021?

The Secretary-General welcomes the appointment of John Dramani Mahama of Ghana as African Union High Representative for Somalia and expresses the full support of the United Nations for this African Union initiative.

Where is the current headquarters of African Union?

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
The AU’s headquarters are in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The OAU was established on May 25, 1963, and its activities included diplomacy (especially in support of African liberation movements), mediation of boundary conflicts and regional and civil wars, and research in economics and communications.

What is the aim of African Union?

The main objectives of the OAU were to rid the continent of the remaining vestiges of colonisation and apartheid; to promote unity and solidarity amongst African States; to coordinate and intensify cooperation for development; to safeguard the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Member States and to promote …

Who is the current speaker of Pan African Parliament?

Roger Nkodo Dang
The PAP exercises oversight, and has advisory and consultative powers, lasting for the first five years….Presidents of the Pan-African Parliament.

President of the Pan-African Parliament
Incumbent Roger Nkodo Dang since 2015
Appointer The Assembly
Term length Three years

Which country is not in African Union?

Morocco withdrew from the OAU in 1985, after admission of Western Sahara. It is now the only African state that does not belong to the AU.

What is the goal of the African Union?

Who is the current chairperson of the African Union?

The current Chairperson of the African Union is H.E. President Felix-Antoine Tshisekedi of Democratic Republic of Congo.

When was the African Union ( AU ) established?

The intention of the AU is to replace the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), established on 25 May 1963 in Addis Ababa by 32 signatory governments. The most important decisions of the AU are made by the Assembly of the African Union, a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government of its member states.

Who are some of the presidents of Africa?

List Of African Presidents Names 2020. Algeria. Coming up first is Algeria (a country in Africa) the following people rule this country; Abdelaziz Bouteflika – The president of Algeria ordering from the year 1999 to date. Ahmed Ouyahia – The Algerian prime minister ruling from the year 2017 to date. Angola.

How many member states are there in the African Union?

Member States The AU is made up of 55 Member States which represent all the countries on the African continent. AU Member States are divided into five geographic regions. which were defined by the OAU in 1976 (CM/Res.464QCXVI).

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top